One of the most requested features for the WSUWP Platform has been the ability to work on a draft of an existing post over time without saved changes overwriting the original until it was ready. There are several options out there for WordPress that meet various workflow requirements, but it was the Duplicate and Merge Posts plugin that seemed to fit the average workflow the best—and it works.

As of today, you’ll see this plugin in your dashboard available for activation. Once activated, any saved posts or pages will have an option to Duplicate and Edit the item.

Duplicate and Edit
Duplicate and Edit

Clicking this button will create a copy of the post or page with “[Duplicated]” in front of the title. A new series of options will then be available in the Publish box for Go to original post, View Side-by-side difference, Merge back to Original Post, and Save as New Post. You can probably imagine what each one of these does, though we’ll have expanded documentation up shortly.

Screen Shot 2015-02-13 at 3.28.24 PM

Merging back to the original post is key. This overwrites the original post or page with the content of the duplicated item. An entirely new home page can be built out in secret and then merged back in when you are ready to launch.

If you go to Settings -> Duplicate & Merge in the dashboard, you’ll see options to restrict the capability for duplicating and merging posts to certain roles. In the future we’ll enable the ability to submit items for review, we just need to figure out the right workflows for that.

We’re excited about this plugin as it solves one of the key questions we’ve been asked since starting our effort to bring everyone to WordPress. It is a new addition, so please let us know if you see anything that looks like a bug or if there’s a feature you’d like to see.